Tags

, , , , ,

Sweet pineapple. Fresh dill. Tender chicken breast. Aromatic white wine….mmm….hungry yet? Last night, I was in the mood for a light dinner, but I still wanted it to be really filling and exploding with taste. I love eating chicken, but (let’s be honest) it can get old pretty quickly if you don’t spice it up once in a while. I was standing in the middle of my kitchen (holding my chicken), trying to figure out what to do with it for what seemed like an eternity. I ended up casually throwing together a bunch of ingredients from the fridge and hoped for the best. What resulted has officially become one of my favorite dishes: Sweet Chicken with White Wine. The best part? It only took about 20 minutes to prepare and cook the entire thing. And it included one of my favorite fruits, pineapple!

Sweet Chicken with White Wine

Ingredients

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 (4-ounce) chicken breasts, cut into small pieces (I used Nature’s Promise)
½ medium onion, sliced
7 ounces pineapple, diced
¼ cup dill, chopped
1 tablespoon chives, chopped
2 ounces white wine

Directions

1. Heat olive oil in a pan, add the onion and cook for about 2 minutes.
2. Salt and pepper the chicken and add to the pan to cook for about 4 minutes
3. Add the pineapple, dill, and cilantro and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring continuously.
4. Add the white wine, cover the pan, and let everything cook for 5 minutes.

Nutrition: Servings: 2, Serving Size: Half the recipe, Calories 250, Total Fat 8.5g, Sodium 88.6mg, Carbs 14.9g, Sugar 10.2g, Fiber 1.7g, Protein 26.7g

I think this was my first time adding pineapple to a main course, but I immediately fell in love with the sweet and unexpected taste it added to my meal!

I had my portion with a side of brown rice, but spreading it over some whole grain pasta sounds just as delicious. And don’t forget that huge side of fresh vegetables either!

What did you have for dinner last night?

