Tags

, , ,

Can you believe I had never made pancakes on my own before today?

Embarrassing.

I woke up this morning and knew it was time. It was time to make pancakes. And it was time to make them healthy.

I went straight to one of my absolute favorite healthy-eating blogs, Peanut Butter and Peppers, and I let Jennifer guide me right through the entire process (because I was honestly clueless).

My family and I were utterly shocked that I was able to pull these off. For my first time making pancakes (and healthy ones at that), I couldn’t have been more pleased with the results!

I followed Jennifer’s Blueberry and Banana Pancake recipe step-by-step, but simply omitted the blueberries and added some extra banana!

Banana Pancakes

Ingredients

½ cup white whole wheat flour
½ cup plain Chobani
½ cup egg whites (4 egg whites if you’re using actual eggs)
1 and a ½ bananas, chopped
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)
¾ teaspoon sugar
½ teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Mix your dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients (including the bananas) in another bowl.
2. Combine the wet and dry ingredients. Don’t over-mix if you want to have chunks of bananas in your pancakes.
3. Spray your pan with cooking spray and wait for it to heat up.
4. Take 3 tablespoons worth of batter and cook for 1.5-2 minutes on each side on medium heat.

What made my Sunday morning even more perfect? I was listening to Jack Johnson’s Banana Pancakes as I was cooking!

Nutrition: Servings 7 medium-sized pancakes, Serving Size 3.5 pancakes, Calories 255, Total Fat 1.2g, Sodium 137 mg, Potassium 458 mg, Carbs 43g, Sugars 15.8g Protein 20.8g

These pancakes tasted incredible. I glazed them over with a bit of maple syrup and topped them with the left-over chopped banana.

I believe my next goal will be to tackle a chocolate pancake. Mmm, let’s see if it will taste anything as good as these.

